The deadline for registration and abstract submission for scientific posters was September 10, 2008.


Public Event Speakers
Oct. 12, 2008

From the Language of Heaven to the Rationale of Matter
Tsung-Dao Lee, Columbia University

The Impact of Modern Telescope Development on Astronomy
Riccardo Giacconi, Johns Hopkins University

Searching for Other Earths and Life
in the Universe

Geoff Marcy, University of California, Berkeley

Conference Speakers
Oct. 13, 14 and 15, 2008

Gary Hinshaw
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Simon White
Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching

Naoki Yoshida
IPMU, University of Tokyo

Xiaowei Liu
Peking University

Alex Filippenko
University of California, Berkeley

Ben Moore
University of Zurich

Elliott Bloom
SLAC, Stanford University

Mark Sullivan
University of Oxford

Shuangnan Zhang
Tsinghua University

Glennys Farrar
New York University

Fred K. Y. Lo
National Radio Astronomy Observatory

Mike Shao
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Richard Ellis
California Institute of Technology

Yilong Huang
National Tsing Hua University

Owen Gingerich
Harvard-Smithsonian CFA

Xiaochun Sun
Institute for History of Natural Science, CAS

Charles Beichman
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Sara Seager
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Paul Davies
Arizona State University

Renata Kallosh
Stanford University

George Ellis
University of Cape Town

Peter Harrison
University of Oxford

Yung Sik Kim
Seoul National University


logo The John Templeton Foundation
logo China Xiangshan Science Conference
logo Ministry of Science and Technology
logo Chinese Academy of Sciences 
logo National Natural Science Foundation of China
logo Chinese Astronomical Society
logo China Center of Advanced Science and Technology
logo National Astronomical Observatories
logo Peking University

  • Panel discussion
    The Cosmos and Humanity, Owen Gingerich, Moderator
  • Panelists:
  • Timothy O'Connor, Indiana University
  • Miao Li, The Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Yunli Shi, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei
  • Marco Bersanelli, University of Milano

Tel.: +86 10 6275 1245
Fax: +86 10 6275 9322
Address: Room 238B, Yingjie Exchange Center, Beijing 100871, China

    Program Committee

  • Donald G. York, University of Chicago
  • Jiansheng Chen, National Astronomical Observatory of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Peking University
  • John Barrow, DAMTP, University of Cambridge
  • Jacqueline Bergeron, Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris
  • Chris Carilli, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • Dun Liu, Institute for History of Natural Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Xiaowei Liu, Peking University
  • Shude Mao, University of Manchester
  • Saul Perlmutter, University of California Berkeley
  • Joseph Silk, University of Oxford
  • Mike Shao, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Shuangnan Zhang, Tsinghua University
  • Gang Zhao, National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences

    Local Organizing Committee

  • Jun Yan (Chair), National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Jianhua Lin (Co-Chair), Peking University
  • Suijian Xue, National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Yansong Li, Peking University
  • Zhenya Chen, Peking University
  • Jin Zhu, Beijing Planetarium
  • Bingxin Yang, Xiangshan Science Conference
  • Zhenyu Wang, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Jinxin Hao, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Guoxuan Dong, National Science Foundation China

    Advisory Committee

  • Catherine Cesarsky, Service d'Astrophysique, CEA Saclay
  • Freeman Dyson, Institute for Advanced Study
  • George F. R. Ellis, University of Cape Town
  • Cheng Fang, Nanjing University
  • Owen Gingerich, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Wenhan Jiang, Institute of Optics and Electronics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Fred K.Y. Lo, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • Frank Shu, University of California San Diego
  • Dingqiang Su, Nanjing University
  • Tan Lu, Purple Mountain Observatory
  • Robert Williams, Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Zezong Xi, Institute for the History of Natural Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Home  |  Program  |  Registration  |  Travel & Hotel  |  Young Scholars  |  Public Event  |  Tours  |  Astronomy Gallery  |  Contact
Page last updated: July 28, 2011